Shop Stool Build Off, Design #2

Another quick CAD mock up of a stool design for the shop stool build off, this one is a steel weldment with a wooden seat and some copper rivets and threaded rod for a foot rest.

The seat design needs more attention, I’m not happy with the shape of the Mahogany seat insert, and I think the overall seat is too big.  It needs to be smaller front-to-back, and it’s too “square”.  But it’s the basic idea that I’ve been doodling for a retro-industrial shop stool.

Now I need to stop playing on the computer and get some errands done.  Hopefully I’ll get out in the shop this afternoon and make more parts for the Underhill Nail Cabinet I’ve been working on.

Stool Design #2

Stool Design #2

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Shop Stool Build Off, Design #2

  1. I like the look of this stool.
    The legs look like something that came of our local bridge (Vilsundbroen) which was built from 1937 -1939.

  2. The seat is mahogany, what wood are you using to look like the metal frame?

    • Ummm, steel?

      I’ll cut it out of 1/8″ steel plate, then bend 1.5″ x 1/8″ flat bar into the outline and weld it to get the I-beam effect.

  3. Michael Redmond

    Hi,
    It looks good but will it be heavy?
    Regards
    Michael.

    • I don’t think so, but it depends on your definition of “too heavy”. I’d guess it would weigh 10 to 15 pounds, which I think is fine for something like this.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. Customized Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

